New European Travel Authorization: A Brief Summary

Feb 25, 2020 Avatar  TravelStore
By the end of 2021, Americans who want to travel to Europe will need a travel authorization with the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), which is a measure to increase security in Europe. To apply for ETIAS online, each American traveler will need a passport, an email account, a credit or debit card to pay the corresponding ETIAS fee, and, approximately, 20 minutes of their time. The travel authorization is valid for three years and permits travel to the following areas:

Austria; Belgium; the Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Iceland; Italy; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; Monaco; the Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; San Marino; Slovakia; Slovenia; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; and Vatican City.

Americans traveling to Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania, and the United Kingdom do not need ETIAS. While Americans do not need a visa for travel that does not exceed 90 days, border control officers in the above mentioned areas may request proof of adequate travel funds, return tickets to the United States, and travel health insurance.

For more ETIAS information beyond this brief summary, please consult the ETIAS site for American travelers.

To get started on your next European getaway, reach out to a TravelStore advisor today!